Inter-Counties 20 mile Road Race
Debden Airfield, Saffron Walden, Essex - 6 March 2022

Hampshire have supported this event in recent years, and it has been good for providing an opportunity for athletes to gain valuable experience in a very competitive environment. Obviously there has been no race for a couple of years due to the pandemic, but we returned for this year's event on a new course at Debden airfield near Saffron Walden after earlier trips to Rochford.

The new course comprised five laps of four miles on a flattish surface. As in previous editions of the race, the Essex runners set the early blistering pace, with Peter Robinson of the home team leading from gun to tape in an excellent 1:45:52.

Men's teamThe Hampshire men's team: Jack Boswell (Aldershot, Farnham & District), Seb Hoenig (Lordshill Road Runners), Dan Hunt and Max Costley (both Southampton)

Behind him, the Hampshire runners managed to settle into small groups that formed as the first lap progressed. The first couple of laps passed without much changing in the overall standings. As they headed into lap three the groups started to break up, and the bolder runners started to apply some pressure to their competitors.

For the men Max Costley and Seb Hoenig moved through the field on the later laps with Jack Boswell and Dan Hunt maintaining their places, Max eventually finishing fourth, overtaking a Cambridgeshire athlete in the last few metres.

Women's teamThe Hampshire women's team: Emma Jolley (City of Portsmouth), Ellie Monks (Southampton), Karla Borland (Winchester & District) and Claire McErlain (Southampton)

In the ladies Ellie Monks was moving strongly throughout the race and passed the early leader to stretch away and finally win by a comfortable margin. Behind her Claire McErlean and Karla Borland were having their own battle with each other on the final lap, with Emma Jolley consolidating her position behind them.

With this being a keenly contested inter county team match, the results of the men's and ladies team event based on the aggregate of the best three times was keenly awaited. As expected, Essex took the men's event from Cambridgeshire, with Hampshire in third. The ladies result was even more impressive, with Hampshire winning from Sussex by more than seven minutes. The ladies will now have to ensure that hey put out a strong team next year to defend the trophy.

Thanks to all the athletes that competed and those working behind the scenes to ensure that the team were ably supported.

Pete Costley
Men's Team Manager

Medal winnersThe Hampshire team with their medals

Women's Team Results

Team Position County Team Time Position Name Time  
1Hampshire6:31:531Ellie Monks2:06:55 
   7Claire McErlean2:12:28 
   8Karla Borland2:12:30 
   (15Emma Jolley2:19:14) 
2Sussex6:38:285Rachael Mulvey2:11:41 
   6Amy Harris2:12:22 
   10Tori Alikhan2:14:25 
   (17Sarah Sawyer2:25:24) 
3Essex6:39:423Heidi-Hogan Steele2:10:15 
   4Lindsey Colman2:11:09 
   14Tracy English2:18:18 
   (-Vicky McElligottQRY) 
4Norfolk6:56:169Juliette Watkinson2:13:35 
   12Cat Cummings2:17:05 
   18Rose Waterman2:25:36 
5Cambridgeshire6:58:3611Toni Alcaraz2:14:50 
   13Joanna Colly2:17:55 
   19Alison Stewart2:25:51 
   (20Shelly Duffy2:27:55) 
6Suffolk7:05:072Katie King2:09:23 
   16Anna O'Hare2:23:50 
   21Samantha Linassi2:31:54 
   (22Juliet Garnham2:41:20) 

Men's Team Results

Team Position County Team Time Position Name Time  
1Essex5:25:491Pete Robinson1:45:52 
   2Paul Molyneux1:48:09 
   6Conor Culham1:51:48 
   (7Chris Burgoyne1:52:11) 
2Cambridgeshire5:32:513Phil Martin1:49:16 
   5David Hudson1:49:34 
   9Martin Amos1:54:01 
   (15Kirk Brawn1:58:08) 
3Hampshire5:36:204Max Costley1:49:30 
   8Seb Hoenig1:52:32 
   10Jack Boswell1:54:18 
   (12Dan Hunt1:56:04) 
4Suffolk5:54:4311Sam Boreham1:54:48 
   17James Nial1:59:05 
   22Lee Barber2:00:50 
   (23Jim Last2:01:37) 
5Norfolk5:55:4213Dominic Blake1:57:16 
   16John Hudson1:58:58 
   18Chris Gay1:59:28 
   (19Lee Cook1:59:57) 
6Sussex5:59:3614Alex Cruttenden1:57:56 
   20William Carey2:00:48 
   21Ben McCallion2:00:52 
   (24Harry Sterling2:02:53) 

Full results on the Event Chip Timing website

Race information from the Essex Athletics website